Aside

Day 1 – Favourite Song


Please, do not make me choose just one. I am in love with a lot of songs from different genres and it is so damn hard to choose just one!

I am known to flout challenges like this by tweaking the answer, sometimes even tweaking the question (haha) and this time is no different – I will choose one song but it is not the absolute favourite (yet?)

Image

Isn’t Flo fabulous?

Shake it OutFlorence and The Machine

(Follow the song name to go to the Youtube video, and the band name for the band website!)

I love this song because it is beautiful. Everything about the song is wonderful – the lyrics is as powerful and touching as all Flo’s songs are, and very poetic too!

Here is the first verse:

Regrets collect like old friends,

here to relieve your darkest moment

I can see no way, I can see no way.

And all of the ghouls come out to play

And every demon wants his pound of flesh

But I like to keep some things to myself

I like to keep my issues drawn

It’s always darkest before the dawn

And I’ve been a fool and I’ve been blind

I could never leave the past behind

I can see no way, I can see no way…

See what I mean? I feel so at home with Flo’s lyrics. It’s beautiful. The melody and music is enchanting – it feels wonderful. The mood is complex, layered. Flo’s voice is unique and strong. I also love the romanticism of their songs and the theatricality of their performances. This is one great band! This song, Shake It Out, is from their Ceremonials album, which is a great album – give it a listen and you’ll see what I mean. Lungs, their first commercial release (if I am not mistaken) is full of powerful, mind-blowing songs as well.

There you have it – my current favourite and obsession – Shake It Out. (Shake it out, shake it out, shake it out, shake it out, whoa!)

2 thoughts on “Day 1 – Favourite Song

  1. 최다해 gongjumonica says:

    Haha! We really are friends, what with those tweaking the question to our own liking! 🙂 I haven’t got the Flo’s Fever, but will sure give it a try. After listening to my classics though…

Leave a Reply

