Day 8: A Letter to Someone Who Changed Your Life


Thank you can never be enough to tell you how much I appreciate everything you have done for me.

You stuck with me through thick and thin, and all the while thinking I’d dry up your patience reserve. You have are working so hard all your life for me, for us. You show us how to live life in integrity, with dignity. You show us the meaning of unselfish and unconditional love. You are doing all you can to provide us with decent living, all the while always smiling, ready to serve. You always shower people with your kindness, generosity and honesty. You always stand up to your beliefs and convictions, but you always keep an open mind.

Who would have thought that we would be friends? People who had seen us fighting years back would probably think that I’d never change, that I’d always be the prodigal child – but you never left my side, you encouraged me, shared with me your wisdom, love and counsel – and for that I would forever be grateful. You treat me as an equal, you let me out into the world to explore it, oh the anxiety you must cope up with – but you let me, because as you said – you have to. We share stories, we console each other, we support each other. If I had listened to you earlier, If I had known that it was this good to be friends and equals with you – I wouldn’t have pulled all those stunts during my younger years.

 

My Father with my nephew, Angelo.

I could not even imagine this life without you, Tatay. I cry at the slightest thought that one day you’ll grow old and leave. I could not bear it, a part of me will forever be dead if that happens. You have always taught us not to be afraid of dying – and we are not – but a loved one to be taken away? That is another form of death I am not ready to face. Ever.

I love you, and I always will. Thank you so much. You are a blessing to me, to the whole family, to everyone you meet. I would always be a Daddy’s girl.

2 thoughts on “Day 8: A Letter to Someone Who Changed Your Life

Leave a Reply

